
Pick AI Ark if you export thousands of verified contacts a month into your own sending tools and want catch-all addresses validated before they reach your file. Pick UpLead if you pull a few hundred contacts a month and want a per-contact accuracy guarantee. AI Ark is the higher-volume UpLead alternative.
Last updated: September 2026
Key takeaways
Different volume bracket. AI Ark plans start at 5,000 credits for $49 a month and scale into the millions. UpLead's published plans give 170 credits a month at $99 or 400 at $199, with higher volumes moving to a custom Professional contract.
Different refresh cadence. AI Ark refreshes its entire database every 30 days. UpLead states that it refreshes its entire database every 90 days.
Different treatment of catch-alls. AI Ark validates catch-all addresses with BounceBan and delivers only those confirmed valid. UpLead returns them labelled "Accept All" and charges a credit, while noting these domains cannot be fully verified.
Different credit rules. AI Ark credits roll over up to twice your monthly plan limit. UpLead's terms state that credits do not carry into a renewal term and are use-it-or-lose-it.
Different cost per 1,000 valid contacts. At 400 verified contacts a month on published annual plans, AI Ark works out at roughly $100 per 1,000 against about $390 per 1,000 on UpLead's Plus plan, applying UpLead's own 95% figure. Workings below.
Ask AI about this comparison
AI Ark vs UpLead at a glance
Feature | AI Ark | UpLead |
Category | Company and people search database built for bulk verified export | B2B contact database verified at the point of download |
Database size | 400M+ people, 70M+ companies, global | 200M+ contacts, 19M+ companies |
Database refresh | Entire database refreshed every 30 days | Every 90 days |
Email validation | Real-time BounceBan validation at export, covering SMTP and catch-all domains | Real-time at the point of download |
Published accuracy | Only addresses that passed verification are delivered; bounce rate under 1.5% expected | 95% accuracy guarantee |
Catch-all addresses | Validated with BounceBan; only confirmed-valid catch-alls are delivered, risky and unknown are filtered out | Delivered with an "Accept All" status |
Pricing model | Credits: 0.5 per profile, 0.5 per valid email, 0.1 per company, 5 per mobile | One credit per contact |
Published entry price | $49/month for 5,000 credits; $470/year for 60,000 credits | $99/month for 170 credits; $74/month billed annually |
Credit rollover | Yes, up to 2x your monthly plan limit | No |
Free tier | Yes, free account | 7-day trial, 5 credits |
Mobile numbers | Yes, verified mobiles on 100M+ profiles, 5 credits each | Yes |
Native CRM sync | API into Zapier, Make, n8n and Clay | Yes |
API | Yes on every plan, same credit pricing as the platform, 300 requests per minute | Yes, full access on Professional |
MCP server | Yes, works in Claude, Cursor and Windsurf | No |
Seats | 3 seats up to 30K credits/month, 5 on 60K–300K, 10 on 450K+ | 1 user on Essentials and Plus, team seats on Professional |
What Teams Say About AI Ark
What is AI Ark?
AI Ark is a B2B company and people search database built for teams that pull lists in bulk: agencies running outbound for several clients, sales teams needing a few thousand fresh contacts a month, recruiters sourcing candidates. It covers more than 400 million people and 70 million companies globally, refreshed every 30 days.
We assume you already own your outreach stack. You have Smartlead or Instantly or Email Bison for sending, you have a CRM, and you do not want another sequencer. Our job is narrower: hand you a file you can upload without a second verification pass. Every email is checked with BounceBan at the moment you export, and only addresses that pass are written to it.
The filters are where the work happens. AI Company Lookalike takes up to five customer URLs and finds semantically similar companies by reading what each business does, not by matching demographics. Net New versus Saved Records means you never pay for the same contact twice. And we carry filters most databases skip: headcount growth over 6, 12 or 24 months, employees by department, time in role separate from time at company, and company HQ as a filter distinct from where the person sits.
What is UpLead?
UpLead is a B2B contact database aimed at sales teams that want clean, verified contacts without an enterprise negotiation. It is a Californian company that publishes its plans on its site, which puts it in a small group of data vendors you can price without talking to anyone. G2 lists it at 4.7 out of 5 from 824 reviews, with small-business accounts making up 76.6% of those reviewers.
The database holds more than 200 million B2B contacts with email addresses and over 19 million company profiles, and tracks more than 27,000 technologies. Data comes from public documents and licensed third parties, is labelled with machine learning, then screened by anomaly detection before it lands. At the moment you reveal a contact, UpLead re-verifies the email and returns Valid, Invalid, or Accept All; invalid records go to a manual research team, and the whole database is refreshed every 90 days. The company's stated position is that it is not chasing database size, and it backs its data with a 95% accuracy guarantee: if a contact bounces after download, the credit is refunded.
One credit buys one contact and gives you the verified email and a mobile direct dial. The platform includes a Chrome extension for LinkedIn and company sites, technographic filters, suppression list uploads, contact and company enrichment, email pattern intelligence, Bombora-powered intent data, competitor intelligence, and native integrations with Salesforce, HubSpot, Zoho, Pipedrive, Microsoft Dynamics 365, Outreach, SalesLoft, Reply.io, Woodpecker, Copper, Nimble, Mailshake, Lemlist, Close and Insightly, plus Zapier. Essentials and Plus are single-user; Professional is annual-only, custom-priced, and adds team seats, bi-directional CRM sync and full API access.
See how AI Ark handles your ICP.
Free tier, 100 credits a month, no card and no time limit.
Data quality: where validation happens
Both platforms verify emails in real time rather than serving whatever the database held last quarter. The difference is what happens to addresses that cannot be cleanly resolved.
How AI Ark does it
When you run an export with valid emails selected, we check every address through BounceBan at that moment, covering standard SMTP checks and catch-all domains. Only addresses that pass are written to your file; invalid, unknown and risky ones are stripped out first.
Catch-alls are the part worth understanding. A catch-all server accepts mail to any address at that domain, so a basic SMTP check tells you nothing, and most tools mark these risky or unknown and hand you the decision. We run additional real-time validation and deliver a catch-all only when it comes back confirmed valid. On that basis we expect a bounce rate under 1.5%, and we would rather you tested that on your own list than took it on trust.
Across a typical export we find and verify a valid email for around 70% of contacts. The other 30% still arrive with the LinkedIn URL, exact job title, company name and domain, enough to run LinkedIn outreach against. A profile without a valid email costs 0.5 credits, one with costs 1.
How UpLead does it
UpLead's pipeline runs eight steps, from crawling public documents and licensing third-party data through machine-learning labelling and anomaly detection, ending with a real-time check when you reveal or export a record. Anything it cannot verify goes to a manual research team, and the database is refreshed every 90 days.
Verification returns four API statuses: Valid, Invalid, Unknown, and Accept All. UpLead defines Accept All as domains that answer every verification request in the affirmative and therefore cannot be fully verified, and a credit is deducted when the status comes back Valid or Accept All. Its help centre advises filtering to "Valid Only" for deliverability and treating Accept All addresses cautiously, mailing them slowly and only on a strong sender reputation. The 95% guarantee is mechanical: a bounced contact gets the credit refunded. Third-party reviewers in 2026 note it covers email rather than phone numbers or title freshness, and put phone accuracy at 55–65%.
The trade-off, stated fairly
UpLead's model gives you a labelled status and a choice before you spend. Filter to Valid only, skip Accept All, and you know what you are buying as you buy it, with a credit back if it bounces anyway. The cost is that Accept All records bill at a full credit while carrying a status UpLead itself says cannot be fully verified, so on a domain-heavy list you pay for records you may not mail.
AI Ark makes that call upstream. We spend the extra validation on catch-alls ourselves and ship only the ones that clear, so there is no status column to triage and no second tool in the loop. The honest limit on our side is that you cannot pre-filter a search to people who have a valid email, because we do not know who does until verification runs.
Neither marketing page settles this. Build the same ICP in both, export the same list, and compare bounce rates in your sending tool after a week. That is the only number that matters.
True cost: is an UpLead alternative actually cheaper?
List price is the wrong comparison because the two platforms sell different units. A UpLead credit buys one contact with an email and a mobile attached. An AI Ark credit is a fraction of a record, and you spend a different number depending on what you asked for. The only figure that compares is total annual spend divided by valid contacts delivered.
Published pricing
UpLead
Plan | Monthly | Annual | Credits | Seats |
Free Trial | $0 for 7 days | N/A | 5 credits | 1 |
Essentials | $99/mo | $74/mo ($888/yr) | 170/mo, 2,040/yr | 1 |
Plus | $199/mo | $149/mo ($1,788/yr) | 400/mo, 4,800/yr | 1 |
Professional | Not available monthly | Not publicly stated | Custom | Custom |
Extra credits cost $0.60 each on Essentials and $0.50 on Plus; Professional is custom. Each credit buys one contact including the verified email and mobile direct dial, and UpLead's terms add that if a company's information changes it counts as an additional credit.
AI Ark
Plan | Credits per month | Monthly billing | Annual billing (credits per year) | Seats included |
Free | 100 | $0 | $0 | 1 |
Starter | 5,000 to 30,000 | $49 to $119 | $470 for 60,000 to $1,142 for 360,000 | Up to 3 |
Builder | 60,000 to 300,000 | $219 to $879 | $2,102 for 720,000 to $8,438 for 3,600,000 | Up to 5 |
Scale (Agency & Enterprise) | 450,000 to 5,000,000 | $1,249 to $9,999 | $11,990 for 5,400,000 to $95,990 for 60,000,000 | 10 |
Credits are spent per item: 0.5 for a profile, 0.5 more for a valid email, 0.1 for a company record, 5 for a mobile number, 4 for an AI personality analysis. A contact with a verified email therefore costs 1 credit, and a contact where no valid email is found costs 0.5.
A worked scenario
Take a team that needs 5,000 verified contacts a month and owns its sending tool.
On AI Ark, 60,000 valid emails a year means exporting about 85,700 contacts at the find rate above: roughly 72,900 credits, 42,900 for profiles and 30,000 for emails. The smallest annual tier that fits is 180,000 credits at $758 a year, which is $12.63 per 1,000 valid contacts, with room to reach roughly 148,000 valid emails before you move up.
No published UpLead plan reaches this volume. Plus tops out at 4,800 credits a year and Professional is annual-only with pricing not publicly stated, so a negotiated quote would land below published rates. On the only published numbers available, 60,000 credits via Plus annual plus overage at $0.50 comes to $29,388, or 57,000 valid contacts at UpLead's own 95% figure: about $520 per 1,000. Treat it as a ceiling, not a quote.
The fairer test is a volume where both vendors publish a plan. At 400 verified contacts a month, UpLead's Plus annual plan costs $1,788 for 4,800 credits, or 4,560 valid contacts at their 95% figure: about $390 per 1,000. The same 4,800 valid emails on AI Ark consume about 5,830 credits, which fits inside the $470 entry annual plan, or roughly $100 per 1,000 valid contacts, with enough left over for around 49,000 valid emails across the year.
The counterpoint, stated honestly
For a solo founder or a single rep pulling a couple of hundred contacts a month, UpLead's bundle covers more of the job for one price. One credit gets the email and the mobile, so phone-first outbound costs nothing extra, where the same mobile on AI Ark costs 5 credits. One seat covers everything, the Chrome extension means working straight off LinkedIn, and CRM sync removes a CSV step.
Then there is the line item neither vendor puts on the pricing page: third-party verification. Teams buying from most databases budget for MillionVerifier or ZeroBounce on top, plus the hours spent running lists through them. UpLead removes most of that by verifying at download and refunding credits on bounces; the residue is the Accept All records, which you either mail carefully or clean yourself. AI Ark removes it entirely by validating catch-alls before delivery, so the file that lands is the file you send.
Work out your own number.
Compare published pricing against what you currently pay per verified contact.
Features side by side
Finding the right accounts
Feature | AI Ark | UpLead |
Company search filters | Industry, location, revenue, headcount, funding, technologies, keywords | Yes |
AI Company Lookalike | Semantic matching on description, SEO description, products and services, and keywords; up to 5 seed URLs; refine by adding any result as a new reference | Yes, Competitor Intelligence on Professional |
Headcount growth filter | Yes, minimum growth % over 6 months, 1 year or 2 years | Not publicly stated |
Employees by department | Yes, e.g. large engineering team and small sales team | Not publicly stated |
Company size basis | Actual headcount from profiles in our database, not the self-reported range | Employee ranges, 1–10 up to 10001+ |
Technographics | Yes | Yes |
Funding filter | Yes | Not publicly stated |
Every filter in the AI Ark column is on all paid plans and the free account.
Finding the right people
Feature | AI Ark | UpLead |
Job title, seniority, function | Organization Role for C-suite, VP and Director plus function; batch paste up to 300 comma-separated terms | Yes |
Person location vs company HQ | Both applied at once, e.g. people in London at companies headquartered in San Francisco | Location targets contact or company, one at a time |
Time in role vs time at company | Yes, combine them to isolate recent internal promotions | Not publicly stated |
Keyword scoped to profile section | Yes, headline, summary or skills | Not publicly stated |
Match modes | Smart, Word and Strict | Title mode: include or exact |
Profile badges | Yes, include Premium or exclude Open to Work | Not publicly stated |
Economic zone filters | EU, G7, G20, continents, regions, states and cities | Regions AMER, APAC, EMEA, LATAM; exclude-EU flag |
Multiple current positions | Latest Active Position toggle searches every active role | Not publicly stated |
Max people per company | Yes, set your own limit at selection | Yes, 1 to 5 or all |
UpLead advertises more than 50 filters and reserves the full set for Professional; the rows above are the ones documented in its public product pages, help centre and API docs. Everything in the AI Ark column is available on every plan.
Getting data out and using it
Feature | AI Ark | UpLead |
Bulk export ceiling | 10,000 records per batch, with Net New and Exclude List workflows to continue past it | Not publicly stated |
Custom export templates | Yes, drag-and-drop column selection, saved and reusable | Not publicly stated |
Duplicate protection | Net New vs Saved Records; a contact you have exported is never charged again on the platform | Same record not charged twice |
Bulk input search | Up to 10,000 domains, LinkedIn URLs or company names pasted at once | Not publicly stated |
Suppression and exclude lists | Exclude Lists, previous exports, and uploaded CSV blacklists | Yes, Plus and above |
API access | Every plan, same credit pricing as the platform | Yes, full access on Professional |
MCP server | Yes, Claude, Cursor and Windsurf | No |
Clay, n8n, Make, Zapier | Yes via API; published Clay templates and video walkthrough | Yes |
Neither platform sends email, so both assume you already own that layer.
Compliance and data sourcing
We're a B2B search engine and data provider. We aggregate from public sources, community contributions and partner networks, and process that data on the basis of legitimate interests under GDPR Article 6(1)(f) for B2B purposes. We adhere to GDPR and CCPA. Our CSV exports are unbranded raw data, and customer-uploaded files used for enrichment are saved as lists inside your own workspace. We monitor for automated extraction and block accounts showing that behaviour.
UpLead is a California company operating under California law. Its terms incorporate Standard Contractual Clauses for transfers from the UK, EU and Switzerland, and it publishes a "Do Not Sell or Share My Personal Information" page. Its own comparison content states that it supports individual opt-out and deletion requests. Customer obligations cover CAN-SPAM, the TCPA, GDPR and CCPA, and prohibit use of the data for any purpose covered by the FCRA. Two clauses are worth reading before signing: the data is seeded to detect unauthorised duplication, and on termination customers must destroy all data held on their systems within seven days and confirm it in writing.
Choose UpLead if
You pull a few hundred contacts a month and want a per-contact guarantee, with a credit refunded when one bounces.
Phone matters as much as email. One credit gets you the mobile direct dial alongside the address, with no separate charge.
You prospect from LinkedIn as you browse and want a Chrome extension rather than a list-building workflow.
Your data needs to land in Salesforce, HubSpot, Pipedrive or Outreach without a CSV step.
You want Bombora intent signals layered on top of your search filters.
You're a single user, and one seat covers the whole job.
You'd rather see an "Accept All" label and make the call yourself than have a vendor decide which catch-alls are safe.
Choose AI Ark if
You need thousands of verified contacts a month and want cost per contact to fall with volume rather than hit a plan ceiling.
You send from Smartlead, Instantly or Email Bison and want a file you can upload without running a verifier first.
Catch-all domains are a large share of your ICP and you'd rather have them validated than labelled.
Your targeting depends on filters most databases skip: headcount growth, employees by department, time in role against time at company, or company HQ separate from where the person sits.
You prospect internationally, and 400 million profiles refreshed every 30 days matters more than a bundled dialer.
You run outbound for multiple clients and need pooled credits, shared lists, unbranded exports and 3 to 10 seats.
You build workflows in Clay, n8n, Make or an AI agent, and want the same credit pricing through the API and MCP server.
If that is your setup, the fastest test is not a demo. Export one target list on the free account and compare it with your current file.
Frequently Asked Questions
1. Is AI Ark a direct replacement for UpLead?
For finding companies and people and exporting verified emails, yes with a larger database and a 30-day refresh. The Chrome extension, native CRM sync and intent are on our roadmap; UpLead has them today via Bombora. So teams that own their CRM workflow and sending stack tend to swap over in an afternoon. Teams whose reps work inside the LinkedIn sidebar or expect records to land in HubSpot untouched will want to wait for those pieces.
2. Is AI Ark's data more accurate than UpLead's?
They measure different things. AI Ark validates every email at export through BounceBan and delivers only addresses that passed, catch-alls included, with an expected bounce rate under 1.5%. UpLead publishes a 95% accuracy guarantee and refunds credits on bounces. Rather than compare claims, export the same list from both and measure bounce rates on your own domain.
3. Do I still need a separate email verifier with AI Ark?
No. Verification happens inside the export. Every address is checked with BounceBan in real time before the file is written, and invalid, unknown and risky addresses never reach it. You can upload the CSV straight into your sending tool, which removes both the third-party verifier subscription and the hours spent running lists through it.
4. What happens with catch-all domains?
AI Ark validates catch-all addresses in real time and delivers only those confirmed valid, filtering out risky and unknown ones. UpLead returns catch-alls with an "Accept All" status and charges a credit, noting these domains cannot be fully verified. Its help centre suggests filtering to Valid Only for deliverability. On a catch-all-heavy ICP that decides how much of your list is usable.
5. Which is cheaper, AI Ark or UpLead?
It depends on volume. At 400 verified contacts a month on published annual plans, AI Ark works out around $100 per 1,000 valid contacts against about $390 per 1,000 on UpLead's Plus plan, applying UpLead's 95% figure. Above that the gap widens, because UpLead's published plans stop at 4,800 credits a year while AI Ark's tiers keep scaling.
6. Does AI Ark have a Chrome extension or intent data?
Both are on the roadmap; neither has shipped. What we carry instead are the proxies buyers act on: headcount growth over a set window, employees by department, funding, and time-in-role filters that surface people who just changed jobs. That's pull rather than push, you build the list from search instead of waiting for an alert, and for teams working in batches it covers the same ground. Our API and MCP server handle the workflow side inside Clay, n8n and Make. Until the extension ships, one-off LinkedIn lookups are the gap.
7. Can I use AI Ark inside Clay?
Yes. Our API works through Clay's HTTP Request module, and we publish Clay templates and a video walkthrough in our docs. The Export Single Person with Email endpoint handles row-by-row enrichment: pass a LinkedIn URL or an AI Ark person ID and get back a BounceBan-validated email with full profile data. A native "Push to Clay" button is in development.
8. Can I try both before deciding?
Yes, and you should. UpLead's trial gives you 5 credits over 7 days with full feature access. AI Ark has a free account for building searches and checking result counts. Run the same ICP in both and compare the files on bounce rate, job-title freshness, and how many of your target accounts each one found.
More Comparisons
Transform your
B2B data







